2016 Albums Left for Review

Here are the albums that I haven’t reviewed from 2016.

  • Robby Johnson Don’t Look Back (first edition)
  • Marie-Eve Janvier & Jean-François Breau Route Infinie
  • Barbra Streisand Encore
  • Bobby Bazini Summer is Gone
  • Jean-Pierre Ferland Chansons Jalouses

These are albums that I missed to comment on when they were released at different times  throughout the year.  I will briefly comment on each one to end this year a good note.

Robby Johnson Don’t Look Back (first edition)

Country: Canada
Musical genre(s): Country
Experience: 2016-present

I admit I don’t listen to a lot of Country music. However, Robby Johnson’s Don’t Look Back album is amazing! The songs are so romantic and entertaining.  It’s distinct from other Country music albums.

I thought Robby Johnson was American when I heard him, but it turns out he’s Canadian! More specifically he’s from my home province of Quebec. That is so cool!

My favourite songs from this album are: Shady, Hate Me Tonight, Together, Anything but Ordinary, There You Are

Marie-Eve Janvier & Jean-François Breau Route Infinie

Country: Canada
Musical genre(s): Pop
Experience: 2009-present

Marie-Ève Janvier and Jean-François Breau have released a new album this fall entitled La Route Infinie. Their music is always a pleasure to listen to. This album in particular has a road-trip feel to it. It makes me look forward to Summer again.

C’est une fille is a sentimental song in honour of the birth of their daughter Lea. It’s a mother and father expressing the joy of welcoming a baby into the world. Although I have no children of my own, I imagine what it would feel like to be a mother.

My favourite songs from this album are: Pour Moi, C’est Toi; C’est une fille; Route Infinie, Le temps manque, la maison où je veux vivre, Avec Toi, J’entend l’bonheur qui cogne

Barbra Streisand Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway

Country: USA
Musical genre(s): Broadway jazz traditional pop disco
Experience: 1963-present

Barbra Streisand’s voice in this album Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway is incredible as always. In this album she sings duets with various singers and actors such as Anne Hathaway, Chris Pine, and Alec Baldwin. Each song tells a story or stories in some cases. She remains to be one of the best singers/actresses of our time.

 

These are songs she sang in her many of her musical films. I love the homage to the past, while adding a contemporary component to it. Love it!

My favourite songs from this album are At the Ballet (featuring Emily Blunt & Anne Hathaway), I’ll Be Seeing You”/”I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face (featuring Chris Pine), Anything You Can Do (featuring Melissa McCarthy), and Pure Imagination (featuring Seth MacFarlane)

 

Bobby Bazini Summer is Gone

Country: Canada
Musical genre(s): Pop
Experience: 2009-present

                                          Coming Soon

Jean-Pierre Ferland Chansons Jalouses

Country: Canada
Musical genre(s): Folk rock, Folk music, Rock music, Blues, Country music
Experience: 1959-present
                                      Coming soon

Leave a Reply

